Monthly Archives: April 2020

Join us for Facebook Live Bedtime Stories

Come enjoy some fun bedtime stories and finger plays with Ms. Stephanie and her dog, Dollie. Join them on our Children’s Department’s Facebook page.

Williamson County Public Library Storytime with Ms. Stephanie, Tune in Live on Facebook, Join Me(her) Weeknights Monday-Thursday and Sundays at 7 pm Follow our Facebook Page WCPLtn Children's Department - Main Library

Book Review: A Private Cathedral, A Dave Robicheaux by Novel, by James Lee Burke

I have to confess to not having read any of Mr. Burke’s novels prior to this one. I will say that I enjoyed it immensely and I can see why he is so popular. The verbiage is wonderfully dense with excellent scenery and character building. He engages the mind and the imagination with an intense, quick paced story that keeps one wondering what next and looking forward to the next chapter.

The tale starts with two lovebirds involved in an odd sort of sex slave scheme between two mafia families.  Isolde Balangie has been taken by Johnny Shondell and he is supposed to ‘give’ her to his older Uncle Mark. He chooses to run off with her instead. Dave walks away from her plea for help but then can’t stop himself from going back and trying to find her.  His friend, Clete, becomes involved with him as they try to help the two teenagers and unravel the mystery of a sinister assassin who stalks them at the behest of one of the families because of this interest in their affairs.

Several threads in the story develop with a cast of colorful characters as Dave and Clete travel from New Iberia to New Orleans and the Florida Keys. Everyone is understandably imperfect and makes bad decisions with good intentions which propel the plot forward.  Burke takes us on a fascinating tour of this part of the South and it’s underbelly with all the malfeasance and malice to be expected in a gritty story about a police detective, ex-cop, mafiasos, beautiful dames, and hitman.  

 It was a tightly wound Southern noir mystery with some horror, science fiction, and romance.  I thoroughly reading it.  It has all the elements I like in a story since I enjoy a good scare and urban fantasies.  Highly recommended for fans of John Sanford, Dennis Lehane, Lawrence Block, and Michael Conelley.  It comes out in August of 2020.

~JN

#APrivateCathedral #NetGalley

COVID-19 DRIVE-THROUGH TESTING EVENT SCHEDULED FOR WILLIAMSON COUNTY SATURDAY, APRIL 25TH

Franklin, Tenn. – The Williamson County Health Department (WCHD) is hosting COVID-19 drive-through testing event for the community on April 25, 2020 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the Williamson County Agricultural Center on 4215 Long Lane, Franklin TN.

Copy of Williamson County Agricultural Center (4)

“Anyone with health concerns, or who has concerns about the health of a family member, is invited to come this weekend to receive testing for COVID-19,” said Cathy Montgomery, County Health Director. “This testing will be provided at no cost to participants, and those who come for testing may remain in their vehicles throughout the process.”

WCHD continues to provide testing Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Agricultural Center. Public health nurses and/or National Guard and State Guard medics will collect nasal swabs from those who want to be tested, and test results may be available within 72 hours after the samples arrive at the lab, depending on lab volume.

Testing at the Williamson County Ag Center

Individuals can subscribe to the  Williamson County’s Public Information text opt-in system by texting keyword WCCOVID to 888-777. 

TDH is posting updated COVID-19 case numbers by 2 p.m. CDT each day at www.tn.gov/health/cedep/ncov.html. Find additional information at www.tn.gov/governor/covid-19.html and www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/index.html.

###

Visit the Williamson County Emergency Management COVID-19 page online at williamsonready.org/Coronavirus.

Connect with WCEMA on Facebook and Twitter

Happy Earth Day!

It’s easy-peasy to celebrate Earth Day during National Library Week,
just visit your eLibrary and enjoy:
Read Return Repeat wcpltn

Alzheimer’s & Dementia Series: Understanding Alzheimer’s and Dementia

Puzzle with the Alzheimer on it and missing pieces

This general overview of Alzheimer’s and dementia explores the relationship between Alzheimer’s disease and dementia, examines what happens in a brain affected by Alzheimer’s, identifies FDA-approved treatments available for some symptoms, looks at what’s on the horizon for Alzheimer’s research, and offers helpful Alzheimer’s Association resources.

Presented online by the Alzheimer’s Association Tennessee Chapter. Each presentation is about an hour long, so the second hour of each program will be devoted to Q&A, gathering resources, one-on-one conversations, and planning sessions.

Plan to attend online with  your phone, tablet or computer on April 28 from 1:30 to 3:30 pm. Registration with a valid email address is required.  The day before the event, we will send an invitation with a  link for you to join the program.

Earth Day!

New Online Story Times

Missing story time?  We miss you too.  We are sharing some of our favorite read-aloud stories on the Williamson County WCTV YouTube channel.

Library Director, Dolores Greenwald, loves Pete the Cat.  Here she shares one of the stories from the popular picture book series: https://youtu.be/TlfHSM8jlUk

Youth Services Manager, Ms. Stephanie, shares a story she loves: https://youtu.be/_CCy5jzdO4g

Children’s Librarian, Miz Liz, shares one of her favorite stories:  https://youtu.be/6YmrjmtCuQ8

Children’s Librarian, Ms. Barbara, sings Old McDonald had a Farm but there is a surprising twist to this classic: https://youtu.be/Ek8iwDjjRTw

Ms. Stephanie is back with Llama Llama, Red Pajama: https://youtu.be/gAxpSOZui_A

And more to come!

COVID-19 Drive-through Testing Sites Relocated Due To Increased Community Turnout

Franklin, Tenn. – The Williamson County Health Department (WCHD), in partnership with the Williamson County Emergency Management Agency (WCEMA), have relocated the COVID-19 drive-through testing locations to the Williamson County Agricultural Center at 4215 Long Ln, Franklin, TN 37064. The location change was due to an increased community turnout for testing.

On Saturday, April 18th the Department performed 663 COVID-19 tests during the state-wide testing event at the Franklin Clinic.

willco ag expo testing

Testing will be available at the Agricultural Center at the following times:

  • Monday, April 20th – 12 p.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 21st through Friday, April 24th – 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Nurses and/or National Guard medics will continue to collect nasal swabs from those who want to be tested, and test results may be available within 72 hours after the samples arrive at the lab, depending on lab volume.

“Anyone with health concerns, or who has concerns about the health of a family member, is invited to come to the Williamson County Ag Center to receive testing for COVID-19,” said Cathy Montgomery, County Director. “This testing will be provided at no cost to participants, and those who come for testing may remain in their vehicles throughout the process.”

The Franklin and Fairview Health Department Clinics will continue to provide WIC (phone counseling only), high risk primary care services and immunizations for children and high risk populations. COVID-19 testing will be provided at the Williamson County Agricultural Center.

TDH is posting updated COVID-19 case numbers by 2 p.m. CDT each day at www.tn.gov/health/cedep/ncov.html. Find additional information at www.tn.gov/governor/covid-19.html and www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/index.html.

###

Visit the Williamson County Emergency Management COVID-19 page online at williamsonready.org/Coronavirus.

Connect with WCEMA on Facebook and Twitter

 

Crafting as Distraction

In this time of exponentially increased levels of anxiety and stress we are all looking for ways to unwind and calm down. We do our best to work, either from home or in an essential function, care for children – both their education and entertainment, and concern about family and friends, especially those we must keep at a distance. Common wisdom is that meditation and mindfulness will focus our thoughts on the present, decreasing worry about past decisions and apprehension about the future.

Crafting can interrupt our negative thoughts to focus on the task at hand – specifically,
the craft you are undertaking. Personally, in the last two months I have crocheted thirty-four hats. I like to make hats because they are a small enough project to complete without getting bored. I have no idea what I will do with these hats, most likely I will donate them, but they tend to calm me. I have teen aged children that are requesting stuffed animals, so I may investigate Amigurumi crochet (Amigurumi is

Japanese for “knitted or crocheted stuffed toy”). Focusing on these new types of crochet patterns can potentially be relaxing.

Browsing Subjects in Libby, I found over 450 ebooks in Crafts, over 300 of them were available to borrow immediately. I found Creepy Cute Crochet by Christen Haden, Crochet One Skein Wonders by Judith Durant and Edie Eckman, Teach Yourself VISUALLY Crochet by Cicely Keim, and even Crochet Patterns for Dummies by Susan Brittain, all with Amigurumi patterns I could try.

There are many, many other crafting ebooks in Libby – on soap making, beading, duct taping, candle making, quilting, and even building cardboard habitats for cats (Cat Castles by Carin Oliver). Many of these ebooks are guides for beginners, you may already have the items needed to start something new, or things can be acquired online, both JoAnn Fabrics and Michael’s have curbside pick-up.

Another thing I have found to distract my thoughts from the past and the future, making me mindful of the present is coloring. Not children’s coloring, although if you have younger kids you could wrangle one of their books, but I doubt that would lead to tranquility.

According to Dr. Scott M. Bea, PsyD at the Cleveland Clinic, adult coloring can be calming because it focuses your attention on the task, leading to relaxing your brain; with a predictable outcome it is a low stakes activity. I have also found that pulling out the coloring books and colored pencils attracts my teens, one or both may pull up a chair and the shared activity allows us to talk – looking down rather than making eye contact seems to encourage a release of feelings. An inexpensive meditative diversion, a Google search for “coloring pages for adults “resulted a whole bunch of free pages.

504x504_Library-closed

Whatever you do to distract and relax your mind can be helpful. Try searching and browsing the available ebooks on crafts in Libby or Overdrive and Hoopla for ideas for starting something new or expanding on your current interests.

by DD in the Reference Department

Celebrate National Library Week 2020

nlw20-altphrase-web-1-boombox-300x250The theme for National Library Week 2020, “Find your place at the library,” was chosen some time ago, before any of us could imagine the emergence of a global pandemic that would force most libraries to temporarily close their physical spaces.  But you can still find your place at the library because libraries are open for business online, providing the virtual services and digital content their communities need more than ever. You can access ebooks, movies, music, video games, virtual storytimes and activities, and so much more — all from the the comfort of your home.

This year during National Library Week, April 19-25, let’s celebrate by showing our appreciation for the many innovative ways libraries, librarians and library workers are continuing to serve their communities during a time of crisis.

%d bloggers like this: